Digital Resources for Research in Manitoba

Recently I was helping a good friend with his research, and wanted to find some local resources available online.  A few days later our copy of Relatively Speaking – the journal of the Alberta Genealogical Society – arrived and my wife pointed out a website recommended in an article!

The website is http://manitobia.ca/content/en – and no, that is not a typo! It is Manitobia! – and there is free access to all the information!

What will you find there?  There are five sections:  books, newspapers, maps, photographs, and K-12 Schools.

I first went to the books section hoping that I might find a few digital books . . . and I was very pleased to see that this was a collection of digitized local histories – and then I looked down the list of places and it went on and on – there are 167 place with local histories!  I really wish I could find some Manitoba ancestors!  And some of the places have more than book! These are full books in pdf format!  It might take a little time to download a book onto the screen but you can right click and save a copy.

You will have a similar good time exploring the newspaper, map and photo sections, but I wondered what there was in the K-12 School section . . .  It is organized by some interesting historical themes including Immigration and Settlement.

All in all a great site!  I wonder if someone would loan me an ancestor from Manitoba?

Are there similar resources for Alberta?  Come back next week and find out!

This entry was posted in Canadian, Research, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

