Using Family Origin Pages at Ancestry.ca, .co.uk, and .com

Did you know that Ancestry has Family Origin pages?  Why might you want to see one?

I think these pages would be very helpful for the beginning Family Historian – and I find them interesting.  I hope you do too!

How do you get to a Family Origin Pages?  There used to be a link to them within the Ancestry site but it doesn’t seem to be there any more.  Go to google.ca and do a search for YourName Family History – so for me that would be Darby Family History – but you use your family name.  Scroll down the results to find one titled in my example “Darby Family Meaning and Darby Family History at Ancestry.ca” – in my 3 tries today it was the second on the result list – but it could be a little  further down.

Screen Shot 2016-06-11 at 7.13.48 PM

Click on the link and you get:

Screen Shot 2016-06-11 at 7.11.38 PM

An interesting set of information and useful links to information. Notice that the name distribution map offers the option of England and Wales, or Canada.

While you have the Ancestry.ca Family Origins Page on the screen go to the address bar at the top of the screen, carefully insert the cursor after the a in .ca, backspace one letter, then type o.uk (lower case o), and press enter.  You will now see the Family Origin Page from Ancestry.co.uk:

Screen Shot 2016-06-11 at 7.12.38 PM

Now the name distribution map adds Scotland and drops Canada.  You will also notice slight differences in the list of options below the map.

The changes are more significant on the Family Origins page at Ancestry.com!  Getting to that page is a little more challenging, but you should do it!  I was using the Google Chrome web browser and when I tried to edit the address bar to .com I was just automatically redirected to .ca.  Ancestry have kindly provided me with a solution for this and I  have pasted that in at the end of this article.  For me it was simpler to just start a different web browser – in my case Firefox, which I also like – and do the google search again, but instead of clicking on the link which will come up as .ca, I copied the link (dragged across it, right click, copy) and then pasted it in the address bar.  Then I carefully inserted the cursor after .ca, backspaced once, and added om – so it ended in .com.  This is what I got:

Screen Shot 2016-06-11 at 7.14.45 PM

Now I have access to the US distibution for my name, and changes in the options at the bottom of the page including an average life expectancy and a link to Civil War records.

Why does it matter if I access the Family Origin page at .ca, .co.uk, or .com?  It would depend on where your ancestor came from!  If they came from Scotland you wouldn’t want to be on .ca.  If they came from the USA you would want to be on .com.

I find these Family Origin pages interesting to look at.  Now I would suggest you try doing this for other names in your family tree!

One hint:  look at your family names carefully.  If they can be sub-divided into 2 common words it may happen when you do a search!   For me a sensitive is my grandmother Letall.  Searches usually change this to “let all”!  Solution?  I put quotation marks around the word Letall.

Instructions from Ancestry.ca on accessing .com:

In order to bypass the redirect, you will need to clear your cache and cookies and try again to go to Ancestry.com and watch for the box to come up which will give you the option to be taken to the Ancestry site that is being recommended or to continue to the site that you entered in the address bar/searched for. By doing the above you should not be redirected unless you clear your cache and cookies.

I have attached a link below which has instructions on how to clear your cache and cookies.  

Answer Link: Managing your Internet cache and cookies

Thank you Ancestry!  I always find them very helpful when I can’t find an answer and ask them a question.

And thank you Ancestry for the interesting and helpful Family Origin pages!

This entry was posted in Ancestry.com. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

