Were all the Irish records lost in the 1922 fire?

Darby?  You must be Irish!  Wish I was – but I’ve not found a connection yet!  My Darbys seem to be long time inhabitants of the Black Country of England.

I do however like to help my friends with their Irish Research.

Have you heard the story of how all the Irish records were lost in a fire in June 1922 during the Irish Civil War? All of them?  Is this true?

I just found this short but very interesting article on the Irish GenealogyToolkit website that clarifies this question and gives some research help.  I hope you like reading it as much as I did.

http://www.irish-genealogy-toolkit.com/irish-records-burned.html

This entry was posted in Ireland and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

